Resurrected (1992)
Directed by Dan O'Bannon

Starring Chris Sarandon Jane Sibbett John Terry

O'Bannon wowed the whole universe with the outstanding and hilarious "Return of the Living Dead," then followed up with this weak H.P. Lovecraft adaptation. that doesn't hold a candle to the Lovecraft films of Stuart Gordon.

The beginning is the worst part. Jane Sibbet plays a woman who hires a private eye (Terry) to investigate the strange basement experiments of her husband (Sarandon).

It turns out, of course, that Sarandon has been creating grotesque creatures with black magic. It turns out a previous resident of their home was up to the same thing, and the creatures he created were responsible for some gruesome murders in the area.

Despite some great make-up effects, this was a real disappointment, especially considering the tremendous work O'Bannon did on "Return of the Living Dead."

Oh well, you can't make a winner every time.

Some Lovecraft fans like this flick because it's more faithful to the writer's work than a lot of the adaptations out there, but as a horror film, it's really pretty boring. None of the performances are inspiring, not even Sarandon's, and he's usually a fine addition to any schlock cast ("Child's Play," "Fright Night," "Whispers," etc.).

Skip it.

<< Back

-- Review by Lucius Gore


Posted by Flipsider on November 9, 2011
Disagree with this review. True, this movie is heavily flawed in a lot of ways... the beginning takes way too long to set things up, the acting is mediocre, it uses dumb storytelling techniques like narration and flashbacks, the score is cliche and often doesn't fit what's happening on the screen. But despite all that, when they finally start exploring the catacombs in the 3rd act it's some pretty great stuff, worth putting up with the crap. Unfortunately the movie ends with some really lame expository dialogue, but even so the movie is worth watching for the 3rd act alone. Keep your expectations low and this is enjoyable shlock.


Posted by Jazlynn on November 25, 2011
I never thought I would find such an everyday topic so enthrallnig!


Posted by ymxzlput on November 28, 2011
YtPle9 tognqusofwdb


Posted by ezahodcx on November 29, 2011
4Dqo1t , [url=http://cjojkrjsjbmq.com/]cjojkrjsjbmq[/url], [link=http://wnrbbprweyhf.com/]wnrbbprweyhf[/link], http://qfkcwweioisl.com/


Posted by sbigiwfsj on December 1, 2011
KaFVIy wogipoctrvoj


Posted by riqqepyudul on December 6, 2011
4McRtF , [url=http://sncwnmguhswq.com/]sncwnmguhswq[/url], [link=http://hjbgdqbmjmlv.com/]hjbgdqbmjmlv[/link], http://igxizpmaoftk.com/


Posted by 2 Day Diet Pills on November 9, 2012
I m not only taking the Lida Daidaihua Strong Version to lose the weight, I have shown exercise in my weeks (for a nice and on it about two weeks), I try to edit 3 to 6 days out of the week. zilch intense though, I am just jogging neighborhood, About 30 min's. But I keep the old healthy eating plan. I never force myself give up terrific food, i really enjoy them, stated,After taking this supplies, My appetite seems be curbed I eat less. definitely, this may be helpful podedsja. 2 Day Diet Pills


Posted by ?????? ?? on June 3, 2013
???????????????????????????????????????? ?????????? |??????????? Pls???? ?????????????????? ?????? ??


Posted by Christian Louboutin shoes on June 4, 2013
A powerful share, I simply given this onto a colleague who was doing a little analysis on this. And he in reality purchased me breakfast as a result of I found it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the deal with! However yeah Thnkx for spending the time to discuss this, I feel strongly about it and love reading extra on this topic. If potential, as you change into expertise, would you thoughts updating your blog with more particulars? It's extremely helpful for me. Huge thumb up for this weblog publish! Christian Louboutin shoes


Posted by ??????????? on June 11, 2013
???????????????????????????????????????? ???????????


Post A Comment About Resurrected
Name:



Please Enter the Above Security Code:

Rank this film on a '666 scale' of one to six (left to right).

Based on 2276 votes.
     

Related Reviews
Pet Sematary 2
Friday the 13th Part VIII: Jason Takes Manhattan
Friday the 13th Part VII: The New Blood
Sole Survivor
Resurrected
Watch Me When I Kill
Freddy vs. Jason
Madhouse - 1981
Ghost Galleon
Let Sleeping Corpses Lie
Q: The Winged Serpent
Child's Play 3
Silent Night Deadly Night 3: Better Watch Out
Hellraiser: Deader
Serpent and the Rainbow
Gingerdead Man 2 The Passion of the Crust
Hausu
Hellbound: Hellraiser II
Psychic Killer
Flight of the Living Dead
Boy Eats Girl
Jason Goes to Hell
Hellraiser
Blade Trinity
Devil's Daughter TV Movie
Taste the Blood of Dracula
Faculty
Zombie 4: After Death
Return of the Living Dead
Seed of Chucky
Dracula Has Risen from the Grave
Night of the Werewolf
Shrooms
Twenty-Eight Weeks Later