Prom Night (1995)
Directed by Paul Lynch

Starring Jamie Lee Curtis Leslie Nielsen

After starring in the smash hit "Halloween," Jamie Lee Curtis was roped into starring in two other slasher films before polishing off her early "scream queen" career with "Halloween II." This is one of them.

The Canadian "Prom Night" is a decent early slasher pic with Curtis as a high school senior who witnessed the brutal, accidental killing of her sister as a child. A group of kids pushed her out of a second story window during a twisted hide-and-seek game. Curtis looked way too old to be in high school, but what the heck. Someone starts making crank calls and whacking off the kids who participated in the accidental killing. Is it the man who was wrongfully institutionalized for the girl's death?

It all climaxes with murders at a disco-fied senior prom, where Curtis has an extended "Saturday Night Fever"-style dance scene. A severed head shows up on the dance floor. "Don't panic!" a teacher screams as everyone scrambles for the exit. Fairly well-done, more than watchable horror flick. Nielsen stars as Curtis' dad. This was before he hit comedy stardom with the "Naked Gun" movies. Kevin Williamson borrowed a hell of a lot from this movie with "I Know What You Did Last Summer." As in that modern hit, the guilt-ridden characters of "Prom Night" are being offed by someone who knows about a death they were involved with. Williamson's treatment was 100 times better.

A decent, professionally made horror film, "Prom Night" has all the cliches: the nutty janitor you're supposed to suspect is a killer; the sluts who are slashed first; teenagers played by actors in their 30s. At least it's better than other early '80s slasher pics, like "Happy Birthday to Me" and the unwatchable, long out-of-print "Graduation Day."

"Prom Night" spawned a number of totally unrelated sequels, the first of which, "Hello Mary Lou: Prom Night II" was released seven years after this one.

<< Back

-- Review by Lucius Gore

USER COMMENTS

Posted by Sam on August 2, 2011
This came out in 1980, not 1995!!


Posted by Rocky on November 23, 2011
Holy szhinit, this is so cool thank you.


Posted by diiaefjzke on November 24, 2011
MgEyLR , [url=http://lwzuhoodxbub.com/]lwzuhoodxbub[/url], [link=http://iqexcmiwbgum.com/]iqexcmiwbgum[/link], http://zbtgruoqgoih.com/


Posted by dhxnhia on November 30, 2011
9RM8PF kmhrlovcmnoz


Posted by obcxlhujqea on December 4, 2011
Yr2aMp , [url=http://pgnhnyarqpvm.com/]pgnhnyarqpvm[/url], [link=http://pdudhajwfqls.com/]pdudhajwfqls[/link], http://qfpltxawwsvo.com/


Posted by New MZT on November 13, 2012
I found the items to be a great deal. The Lida lida daidaihua makes me less hungry and the fat burn is helping me chuck out my flab. The instructions that came with it told me that getting my eating in hand was necessary for a winning approach. I really took that to heart and have owned a lot more discipline when I am eating and the hoodia makes all that easier. I am doing sit ups and taking the items every day and so far, My flab is disappearing. I dont own a working scale but i know that things are improving podedsja. New MZT


Posted by ?????? on May 29, 2013
??????????????????????????????????????????????? ??????


Posted by ?????? on June 8, 2013
??????????????????????????&???????????? ????????????????????????????????????????? ??????


Posted by ????? ??? on July 19, 2013
???????????????????????????????????????30%??????????????????????100%????????%????????????????? ????? ???


Post A Comment About Prom Night
Name:



Please Enter the Above Security Code:

Rank this film on a '666 scale' of one to six (left to right).

Based on 2340 votes.
     





Related Reviews
Prom Night
Hello Mary Lou - Prom Night II
Dance of the Dead
I Know What You Did Last Summer
Carrie
Texas Chainsaw Massacre: The Next Generation
Train
Majorettes
Night Flier
Devil's Wedding Night
Christmas Evil
Night of the Seagulls
Silent Night Deadly Night 4: Initiation
Ganja and Hess
Graduation Day
Children of the Living Dead
Gothic
Thirty Days of Night
Night Train Murders
Night of the Living Dead
Night School
Bride of Re-Animator
Dead of Night
Crazies
Midnight
Silent Night Deadly Night Part 2
Silent Night Deadly Night
Night of the Living Dead: 30th Anniversary Issue
Night of the Comet
Rats: Night of Terror
Black Christmas
Night Warning
Graveyard Shift
Let Sleeping Corpses Lie
Scarecrows
Night of the Demon
Night Gallery
Grapes of Death
Fright Night II
Day of the Dead 2: Contagium