Baby Blues (2008)
Directed by Lars E. Jacobson, Amardeep Kaleka

Starring Colleen Porch Joel Bryant Ridge Canipe

Over the years at ESplatter, I've received maybe hundreds of review copies of films, all of them being hyped by PR machines. Many of them are unwatchably bad -- unreviewable, in fact. Sometimes they're pretty good.

Then, every now and then, a film turns up with zero hype, zero marketing, zero PR, and just kind of arrives in my Netflix queue -- and blows me away. The just-released "Baby Blues" is such a film. This horror movie -- which received no marketing that I'm aware of before hitting disc -- is probably the scariest movie since Rob Zombie's "The Devil's Rejects." It's an awesome horror movie. Presumably, its subject matter was too disturbing for the festival circuit. After all, it's about a mother trying to kill all of her kids. Had it played anywhere, we would have heard about it, because "Baby Blues" is a film you can never forget after seeing it.

After all, it is a movie about a Mom with post-partum psychosis who goes after her own kids. You've probably heard the occasional horrifying news item about a mom that goes homicidal after giving birth. Well, someone finally made a horror movie about it.

But before you condemn it, remember "The Shining" was about a parent trying to kill his kid. Only this time the parent is a mother, not a Dad. Maybe that's what made "Baby Blues" unreleasable. I suspect it will develop a big cult following now that it's finally available.

Set (and filmed) in the U.S. state of Georgia, co-directors Lars Jacobson and Amardeep Kaleka's debut film opens up with your standard horror movie disclaimer: "The following is based on actual events." (Actually, it isn't. But nevermind.) We're introduced to the star of the film -- the 'Mother' as her character is called, played perfectly by Colleen Porch of "Transformers" fame -- cradling her newborn.

The protagonist of the tale is the Mom's down-to-earth oldest son Jimmy, played by young actor Ridge Canipe, in another great performance. When his truckdriving Dad takes off on a job, he tells his son to be act like the man of the house. In another foreshadow of the events that are about to happen, a trailer trash neighbor lectures the boy on the nature of survival -- after showing him a rattlesnake killed by a chicken.

Mom starts having quasi-religious visions of stigmata on a baby shirt before having a complete psychotic breakdown. With her husband gone, the Mom starts going homicidal on her own kids, strangling the baby first, until the only child left alive is her oldest son -- whose knowledge of the family farm and skills with a slingshot give him a fighting chance to survive the night.

The film reminds us it's a not-to-be-taken-seriously horror film with a sometimes hammy performance by Porch as the mother. She delivers Freddy-like one liners mocking motherhood -- mumbling "Wash your hands, brush your teeth, dinner's downstairs" -- as she stalks her oldest son across the family farm, brandishing a meatcleaver.

In a sense, her behavior isn't much different from that of Jack Torrance in "The Shining" -- and one shot of the movie, photographed below her as she bellows at a locked door, clearly pays tribute to Kubrick's now classic horror movie, an obvious influence on this film. But there is something more terrifying (and certainly more unique) when it's a mother instead of a father that becomes the homicidal maniac on the loose.

What makes "Baby Blues" such an excellent horror movie is a combination of Jacobson and Kaleka's use of the American heartland and the Americanized ideal of motherhood as objects of fear plus the excellent performances by the cast. The film feels authentic, so it becomes easy to suspend disbelief and go along for a terrifying ride.

"Baby Blues" is one damn scary movie, way better than the theatrical fear films that have come out this year, and easily one of the best horror movies of 2008.

<< Back

-- Review by Lucius Gore

USER COMMENTS

Posted by owa on August 24, 2008
So good. This movie was just so good. One of the best horror films I've seen in a long time.


Posted by KT on August 29, 2008
I couldn't finish the movie. I literally became sick to my stomach after the part where the little girl was hiding in the straw and begging her momma not to kill her and the momma did anyway. I don't scare easily and this movie did not scare me, it was just sickning.


Posted by Jaclyn Webb on September 4, 2008
I like scary movies and I am one of the few girls I know that does. However, I would not call this movie scary, but just plain sick! I stopped watching after "Momma" killed the youngest son by stabbing him to death in front of his siblings. By far, this is the sickest movie I have ever seen.


Posted by jaceen lewis on September 28, 2008
I agree with the above posters, this movie was SICK.


Posted by Gigi on September 29, 2008
I am disappointed that the movie said that it was about actual events and this review said that it is not. I want to know if this eally happened, and, if so, where and when.


Posted by chengy on October 3, 2008
we just watched the movie today for our maternal and child topic on POstpartum Psychosis! and man! it's definitely SICK! good thing there were many of us watching! and if i was the only one watching the movie, god! i would surely puke to death! what a psycho! mothers who've just delivered should be taklen care of in order to prevent this kind os occurence! GOD help these people! *kudos to the film makers! heheh:D


Posted by Tea on October 6, 2008
Watched with family - excellent film; acting was brill and had everyone on the edge of thier seats! very real, but i'd also like to know if this was not based on true events why do the directors say it was? Whether it was or wasn't doesn't change my review cause this is one of the best movies i've watched this year!


Posted by zel on October 13, 2008
after watching this movie, i then realized how blessed i am to have such a wonderful mom...i love my mama joy..


Posted by Darlene on October 18, 2008



Posted by Darlene on October 18, 2008
I have never seen anything like this before, I actually felt like I had been physically assaualted after watching this movie, and I do not believe I will ever forget it, I was shaking in my chair afterwards and my stomach was in so many knots, I wanted to puke and couldnt, this was not my idea of entertainment nor my daughters after we watched this movie we were so shaken up by what we had just watched that we couldnt really talk about it, W hy would people make such a movie is beyond me, but it will prolly give some sickoid a crazy notion to make this a reality, and dear god I hope not but it will prolly happen just as this movie happened, sick and unrelenting is what this movie is it is not a horror movie it is just horrible


Posted by St. Christopher on October 19, 2008
Holy Balls, I just took a trip into Satan's play pin. That woman is freakin crazy. Too bad the dog didn't rip her throat out in the chicken coop. And somebody curb stomp the father for actually telling the only living child left that their homicidal mother was coming back to the farm. I am a forgiving person, but sometimes you have to stretch the rope and test the tree.


Posted by Tracy on October 23, 2008
I just watched Baby Blues.I f this is not an actual event ,then is this some kind of sick tribute to mother's who actually do this to their children??I saw nothing God like about this movie at all-her "religiousness"is a joke! People will film anything and call it a movie.The ending with the father wanting the mother to come home-WTF is that all about!!!Terrible


Posted by Greg on October 24, 2008
This is kind of based on a true story. The womans name is Andrea Yates, (i may have spelled the last name wrong, but thats how you pronounce it) I have studied this case in college and there are some similarities to the movie. Andrea did kill her 5 young children, she killed each of them by drowning them in the bath tub. The way killing began was similar to the movie, she killed the youngest child because she snapped due to the children screaming and set off her psychosis. The rest of the murders are purely hollywood, except that she did have to fight with the oldest boy but not to the extent in the movie. Andrea was diagnosed with postpartum psychosis and was eventually declared innocent by reason of insanity and is currently in a mental hospital. Her husband and father of all of the children has forgiven her and wants her home. She had been sent to mental hospitals before the murders but she was released from those hospitals shortly after being admitted and she was given drugs to help her condition but she stopped taking them before the murders. Yates claimed that she killed her children because she was an unfit mother and God was going to send her children to hell because she was not good enough to raise them correctly. This is one of the most tragic stories in our time and will always hit a nerve with any human being. Its a terrible story that should not been seen or heard by the weak stomached.


Posted by cammy on November 3, 2008
The girl working at our video store recommended this movie to me. I love scary movies and she said this was a great one'; a little freaky, but good. WTF! When she said freaky, I was thinking like The Ring or something. Not a mother killing her children! I couldn't get past the middle son being killed. I can't believe how graphic it was. I have 3 boys and it made me sick at my stomach to think that someone could even enjoy this movie and think of it as a "good movie". I feel the same as one of the comments above Just Sick!


Posted by on November 19, 2008
thizz movie muz hella gud dam i needd a scare & i got it


Posted by Lady Q on November 22, 2008
I watched this movie with my husband and we thought it was f***** up because of how that woman lost her d*** mind!!! I think that it was very sick of someone to do that to kids! I wont be watching that movie anytime soon because its hard to believe its based on actual events.


Posted by Liz on December 16, 2008
This is a dumb movie. The writer's know nothing about post-partum depression and this movie is extremely unrealistic. So many things happen that are too farfetched. It gets to a point where the events are so ridiculous that the movie gets annoying. The kid could have escaped so many times!


Posted by sue on February 9, 2009
that's why people with weak stomachs and low tolerance for gruesome and violent events shouldn't watch such films. they give horrible reviews and put the directors to shame. i think they did a fantastic job making this film. i know it's horrible for a mother to have done that to her children, i was at the edge of my seat when i watched this by myself. i'm not heartless but i did give this film two thumbs up because it showed ME that even being a mother can do terrible things to you. i've watched this movie thrice now and instead of being horrified i now feel saddened, i don't feel sickened cause i've watched to much gore before without puking and i'm not about to start now. people who found this movie interesting aren't sick, i believe they have an open mind to stronger things that those who are weak can't tolerate. i live for horror films, there's yet to be one that really scares me and until then i'll watch any.


Posted by whoa on February 22, 2009
whoa


Posted by Joshua Hawkins on February 24, 2009
well this movie was great i disagree with most the people it was not sick or scary i was in thrill watching this kind of movie i have seen a lot ibn my day after serveing in iraq nothing is sicking to me as over there i just saying it good to let the people see thing what the real world is about keep movie like this coming


Posted by Geoffrey Collins on February 28, 2009
yes, i have watched this movie, and its truly disturbing, not only about the mother killing her own children, but the fact that this is kind of based on true events, and this situation is very real...i thought i would be scared to death by the suicide woman in The Sixth Sense, but this movie redefines the boundaries of psychological assault!


Posted by kenneth agnas on March 12, 2009
yehy naa na gyud among reaction!!!


Posted by Copy Paste on March 12, 2009
After all, it is a movie about a Mom with post-partum psychosis who goes after her own kids. You've probably heard the occasional horrifying news item about a mom that goes homicidal after giving birth. Well, someone finally made a horror movie about it. But before you condemn it, remember "The Shining" was about a parent trying to kill his kid. Only this time the parent is a mother, not a Dad. Maybe that's what made "Baby Blues" unreleasable. I suspect it will develop a big cult following now that it's finally available. Set (and filmed) in the U.S. state of Georgia, co-directors Lars Jacobson and Amardeep Kaleka's debut film opens up with your standard horror movie disclaimer: "The following is based on actual events." (Actually, it isn't. But nevermind.) We're introduced to the star of the film -- the 'Mother' as her character is called, played perfectly by Colleen Porch of "Transformers" fame -- cradling her newborn. The protagonist of the tale is the Mom's down-to-earth oldest son Jimmy, played by young actor Ridge Canipe, in another great performance. When his truckdriving Dad takes off on a job, he tells his son to be act like the man of the house. In another foreshadow of the events that are about to happen, a trailer trash neighbor lectures the boy on the nature of survival -- after showing him a rattlesnake killed by a chicken. Mom starts having quasi-religious visions of stigmata on a baby shirt before having a complete psychotic breakdown. With her husband gone, the Mom starts going homicidal on her own kids, strangling the baby first, until the only child left alive is her oldest son -- whose knowledge of the family farm and skills with a slingshot give him a fighting chance to survive the night. The film reminds us it's a not-to-be-taken-seriously horror film with a sometimes hammy performance by Porch as the mother. She delivers Freddy-like one liners mocking motherhood -- mumbling "Wash your hands, brush your teeth, dinner's downstairs" -- as she stalks her oldest son across the family farm, brandishing a meatcleaver. In a sense, her behavior isn't much different from that of Jack Torrance in "The Shining" -- and one shot of the movie, photographed below her as she bellows at a locked door, clearly pays tribute to Kubrick's now classic horror movie, an obvious influence on this film. But there is something more terrifying (and certainly more unique) when it's a mother instead of a father that becomes the homicidal maniac on the loose. What makes "Baby Blues" such an excellent horror movie is a combination of Jacobson and Kaleka's use of the American heartland and the Americanized ideal of motherhood as objects of fear plus the excellent performances by the cast. The film feels authentic, so it becomes easy to suspend disbelief and go along for a terrifying ride. "Baby Blues" is one damn scary movie, way better than the theatrical fear films that have come out this year, and easily one of the best horror movies of 2008.


Posted by ed balendez on March 12, 2009
amoa rani ni kenneth... wlay seloso ha... peace tol! hahah


Posted by NCM501201-312 on March 12, 2009
Sure na ang ncm501202.... whahahaha


Posted by alana on March 27, 2009
OMG!!! it was great i had my mouth open the whole time. I mean i was freakin shaking during the movie never seen anyhting like truly tramatizing excellent work!!!


Posted by Lee & Andy on April 12, 2009
Fantastic! Good Movie! This is very comparable to "The Shining". Everyone that hated it probably should not have watched it. Agree with the main comments, but I liked the pot smoking hillbilly neighbor and the dog killed the chicken.


Posted by Lee & Andy on April 12, 2009
lol..The dog killed the snake....


Posted by applehead on May 16, 2009
i seen it gave it to people to watch to show them but we all really just want to knoe the real story and who is the real people


Posted by jeff on May 17, 2009
twas pretty intense when i watched it lol specially the one killing by stabbing the young boy in the back lol wow wasnt really scary though... more disturbing then anything


Posted by grannyof4girls on May 22, 2009
I agree indeed that it was a very sick and twisted movie, but in reality postpartem depression is very serious. Take for instance if the father had taken into account that he wife was lonely, frustrated, fed up or whatever, he should have stopped long enough to handle the fact that something was wrong, and not the "onions" making her sob. Unfortunately women who have children do suffer from postpartum depression and it is very serious. Most women after they have children don't want anything to do with the children. Men don't realise what the woman go through daily with screaming, messy, fighting children around them, note in hand;, when she threw the bowl on the floor after the fight between the two kids., which I get alot at home seeing that iit is happens all the time. In truth no harm must ever come to a child, no matter what they have done. If you feel unsecure, lonely, tempted or antyhing that would drive you to that, (seeing that she had four children before she resorted to killing them, they should and must seek help). (Hope this makes sense or helps)


Posted by tashy on June 30, 2009
what happened to the lad in real life ?


Posted by mixedmedia on July 14, 2009
loved the movie...sure it was gruesome and graphic and i'm a mom...it made me sick what happened but i also remembered IT IS A MOVIE...for entertainment purposes...if you don't like gross, scary movies, why would you rent a horror flick? postpartum depression is a real illness and it can cause people to do these kinds of sick things...as sick as they may be


Posted by bluey on July 18, 2009
scared as hell almost fell off the chair very good acting wonder if is really a true story


Posted by Tina on August 16, 2009
Just plain sick...nothing like this should be made a movie...the difference between this and the shining is that the little boy didn't die. Its all demonic spirits and I hope God has mercy on any parent that brings home to a child.It's one thing to read about it and see it on the news but to watch events as those brings me chills b/c I know these things happenes and the signs are there and nothing is done about it until its too late.


Posted by mr. reynolds on October 19, 2009
I JUST came across this movie (and subsequently this review) and now I've got to see it!! Not sure how the hell it escaped my radar for this long...


Posted by lbj on October 19, 2009
And regarding the queasy critics that found it to be too stomach-churning - either they're not horror fans or they stumbled upon this figuring it was a sequel to Three Men and a Baby!


Posted by lady bam on October 31, 2009
THis film was awesome not really scary though but i still loved it


Posted by on November 10, 2009
★★★★ stars definately.This movie is an istant classic for me.If you have a weak stomach then dont watch it.Blood is always in a true horror fans vocabulary.If you almost puked from this then here are the reasons : 1.Your a mom. 2.Your a middle aged man with no balls. 3.You had post-partum psychosis at one point.(read the back first). 4.You are under the age of 14. 5.You got this because you thought it was something else. 6.You aren't a true horror fan! 7.Last but not least,you are a puddy cat! Please stop making good directors look stupid when in reality you bitches cant handle a good thrill with some gore! itokesmoke@live.com Upset about what I said? Who cares....I DO!!! Come complain to me about pussy.


Posted by Francis on November 13, 2009
Wow, the ending just ruined the WHOLE movie. It was so gay and farfetched, they wouldn't have ever even thought about letting that ugly bitch out of the crazy home, let alone have another kid... Lame and a half.


Posted by jnh on November 21, 2009
I really don't know how I. It sort of baffles me...


Posted by MSAthan on December 11, 2009
This is an old, old, old story that has been going on as long as there have been mothers. The belief that all females automatically "love" their offspring is a dangerous myth, and now, there are, in some places, cultural safeguards to protect children from this more-common-than-one-might-think psychosis. I would venture to suggest that the females who didn't get this movie never had children. I didn't have children either because my mom convinced me that becoming a mom was the Worst Thing that Could Possibly Happen to a person, and I always knew that she would kill me if she could figure out how to get away with it. Many, many moms do the best the can, but wind up poisoning their children's minds rather than their bodies. Until I was 42 (I'm 63 now), I wished she HAD killed me. Now that feeling only comes and goes. I found the ending of this movie to be very, very real, having to still politely associate with someone who obviously hated me even before I drew my first breath.


Posted by BOB on January 24, 2010
Reallly gud movie i luved its pretty scary n if ur saying its not and dats itz only sick ur only saying dat cause u cant handle the movie i rate it 4 1/2 stars luved it n if u dnt like it go back to barneys holloween maybe you'll stay to finish dat movie haha loosers


Posted by Gabby on February 7, 2010
I saw that movie and that movie was sad just seein how those kids died. and it was just freaky. i would not keep tht movie in my house


Posted by angie on February 14, 2010
i watch dai movie wit my sis and i was freaking out.


Posted by rachel on June 2, 2010
it's not respectful from the director of the movie because at the beginning he said that the movie was based on true events but it isn't!!!please answer us and tell us the true story if it is!


Posted by sebastien on June 2, 2010
i totaly agree with the opinion of Rachel,please tell us the true story if it exists!!!


Posted by raju.pagare84 on June 11, 2010



Posted by Mel on August 3, 2010
I scrunched up my face when she killed her children and snappped the chickens neck. But overall pretty good horror film!


Posted by julissa on August 8, 2010
bitches this movie is awesome i love the blood and i love the fact that the mom looks scary as hell iam not the scared type and the one who closes there eyes...and its not sick ur just a weak ass person haha


Posted by Twin on August 14, 2010
To whom it concerns, according to the Wikipedia article on the Yates case (A Texan mother who methodically drowned her five children in the bath-tub), it claims at the bottom of the page that this movie was based on those events. Also, there is a grain of truth in the ending as well, although I do agree that it was pretty ridiculous that the father was so... calm about the release of the woman that brutally hunted down and killed three of his children. I mean, c'mon... Andrea Yates, after two failed suicide attempts, and accompanying trips to the psychiatric ward was specifically warned against having any more children, but lo' and behold, not even two months later, she was pregnant with her fifth child.


Posted by Vanessa on October 27, 2010
Why?????? I think these movie was sick! Its not horror,watchn kids get killed by tha woman who suppose 2 care 4 them! SICK!


Posted by Funkalator on January 2, 2011
Great Great Movie.


Posted by Derek on January 31, 2011
I loved reading all of these comments. I can't believe more people haven't heard of this flick. Being the HUGE horror fan that I am, even I didn't see it until about a year after its release from a friend who grabbed the first horror movie she saw at Blockbuster as it was closing. I think the scene when the mother is staring at the eldest son through the chicken coop and her head is like quivering is TERRIFYING. My only complaint is the scene with the kitchen exploding. Seemed like it kind of ruined this disturbingly realistic film and turned it into some kind of Michael Bay flick. Also, if anyone has questions about the true story, the filmmakers' have their e-mail on the film's official website.


Posted by Paul Blake on February 3, 2011
I just saw the film in Thailand on a station that usually only runs B movies then I read you review and now I understand why. It is interesting that not releasng this film is that same attatude that the father had in the film of not listening to his son. Here we have a great film that has something very important to tell every one while be a great work of art at the same time. Hopefully one day when the fools who did not release the film are gone someone will come along a see that this great film needs to be seen by espically America. Sincerely Paul Blake


Posted by a woman on May 3, 2011
you people just don't know.Postpartum is no joke.I locked myself up in the nut ward after my third kid.I'm not mental,but i went mental for a while.Just put it this way,i felt safer,locked away from my kids when i suffer from postpartum.The things that when throu my mind,during this time,was no f*cking joke.IIt was like pure evil was in my mind.I was scared of myself and the bad thoughts in my head.Thank God for helping me..and the shrink that gave me some good drugs that got me throu that awful time in my life.I thought I would never be normal,or normal to care for my children or my new baby.But i took pills for 6 months and that crazy shit in my head when away.Well i tied my tube,NO MORE pregnancies for me! Seriously scared of losing myself,my mind..this shit is real..I just glad i never when nuts like that!


Posted by on July 11, 2011
It took me 2 nights to watch this movie actually. I started watching it and shut it off after the Mother started drowning the little girl. Then the entire next day I couldn't stop thinking about this movie and had to see what happened next. I think they stated this movie was "based on true facts" because technically it is..maybe not exactly the way it happened in the movie, but we have all heard stories about postpartum depression and what effects it has on the Mother. I must say, this movie takes a lot of balls to make. It was horribly real and disturbing. I have seen just about every horror movie and this by far takes the cake!! There are very few movies that will haunt me and this is one of them!. I will never forget this movie. I can't believe how graphic this movie was at times. Me being a Mom to a 3 yro only made the sick feeling I had 10x worse! I couldn't imagine hurting my baby!! The Mother in this Movie was a great actress, very believable. The kids were great too.


Posted by Lloyd on August 10, 2011
Great piece of horror but Im certainly glad that the real story didnt happened exactly as in the film.Almost unbearable to watch when that little girl hid under the straw ...


Posted by Craig on September 11, 2011
People tend to have a rosy view of motherhood, and get angry when something happens that conflicts with that view. If the movie had been about a random psycho or even the children's father trying to kill them, there wouldn't be half the outraged comments on here.


Posted by grossed out on October 6, 2011
This movie is sick it should never have been made o turned off after the youngest was killed it made me cry how ever made this movie needs their head checked it the worst movie ever!


Posted by Peter on October 7, 2011
Excelllent film! Excellent actors! Viisualy outstanding! 5 stars!


Posted by on December 4, 2012



Posted by peaches on December 4, 2012



Posted by on January 26, 2013
I think everyone keeps saying it's sick because this could really happen. Not like some scary mask wearing or crazy car driving psycho that in most all cases does not exist. I watched this and it scared me because I could see me and see where others could feel as stressed. Where I seeked help have meds, counseling, etc.... I as a single mom will continue to raise and love my healthy children. However I would not look away and pretend that this scenario would be to sick to be possible. Not me but perhaps some one else who needs help and does not perhaps recognize it. This movie scared me.


Post A Comment About Baby Blues
Name:



Please Enter the Above Security Code:

Rank this film on a '666 scale' of one to six (left to right).

Based on 3020 votes.
     

Related Reviews
Baby Blues
Baby Blood
Baby
Innocent Blood
Unborn
Grace
Unborn 2
Terror Within
It's Alive
It Lives Again
Demon Seed
Devil's Daughter TV Movie
Rosemary's Baby
Offspring
From a Whisper to a Scream (aka The Offspring)
Alligator
Bad Biology
Paranormal Activity 2
To the Devil a Daughter
Halloween: The Curse of Michael Myers
Let's Scare Jessica to Death
Awakening
Feardotcom
Seed of Chucky
Progeny
Passion of the Christ
Believers
Repulsion
Beyond the Door
Stepford Wives
Boys from Brazil
Inseminoid
Final Conflict
Manhattan Baby
Omen III: The Final Conflict
Army of Darkness
Phantom of the Opera
Mephisto Waltz
Ninth Gate
Night of the Demon