Red Sands (2009)
Directed by Alex Turner

Starring Aldis Hodge Leonard Roberts Mercedes Masohn Shane West Theo Rossi

With most of the good horror these days being released directly to DVD and bypassing the theaters (theatrical releases tend to only be PG-13 or remakes in '09), it shouldn't come as much of a surprise at just how good "Red Sands" is -- despite the shoddy artwork on the DVD box.

"Red Sands" is surprisingly realistic given a small budget -- and remarkably current. It's set during the U.S. invasion of Afghanistan after Sept. 11. It's not quite as good as "Dead Birds," the film that Alex Turner made before it.

After a brief introduction during which the film defines for us what a "Djinn" is -- the last time we heard about these creatures in horror films was probably the "Wishmaster" series -- we are then introduced to the film's main character (Shane West), as he's being interviewed. We learn his entire unit had been mysteriously wiped out.

Flashback a few weeks, to when his unit was still alive. They are sent on a mission to guard a road being used by Al Quaeda to transport weapons. When one of the soldiers performs target practice on an ancient statue, a Djinn -- or evil spirit -- is apparently unleashed. The men run across the bodies of a family apparently wiped out by a sandstorm. As they continue their journey in search of the road to guard, West's character begins to have nightmares and strange goings on slowly start to happen.

The tension builds slowly for our characters -- and most of the tension revolves around war not around any kind of supernatural that has been unleashed. It picks up considerably when the troops lose all contact with the outside world after shacking up in an abandoned desert house -- and are visited by a mysterious (and rather beautiful, in a National Geographic sort of way) young Afghan woman (Mercedes Masohn) who somehow showed up in the midst of sandstorm, speaking in an ancient dialect that even the translator of the group can't understand.

The soldiers begin seeing visions of their past "sins" in warfare -- mainly committing acts of friendly fire or accidentally killing civilians. Turner builds things up very slowly. It eventually becomes apparent that this mysterious woman is in fact a supernatural being -- and she's the reason that these guys are fucked.

While not a perfect film, it was visionary and impressive given a tiny budget. It will be interesting to see what Turner comes up with next.

<< Back

-- Review by Lucius Gore

USER COMMENTS

Posted by Laurian1980 on March 12, 2009
I liked it a lot and totally agree with this review. It's been a long time since I last saw a horror flick based on the anticipation of terror and not just bad taste gore and violence. This movie had a pretty smart plot and tons of creepy moments. I also liked the camera work a lot and the characters were all likeable.


Posted by andrew on March 26, 2009
i just watch red sands because i found it on a shelf. im glad i did pay to see this movie. im currently station in afghanistan and the only reason i watched it is because i had nothing else to do. i would say this is one of the worst movies i have ever seen. the acting was terrible and so was the story plot, or lack there of. i wouldnt have even made the insergents watch this garbage for fear of being arrested of tortueing them. this deployment has been pretty bad but the last hour and a half i spent watching this horrible movie has been the worst part so far and pretty sure it will be the worst part for the rest of the deployment. i would rather take a bullet in the knee cap then sit threw that movie again.


Posted by kedbecker on July 7, 2010
I agree with the review. considering the budget it's a good film. keeping the tension just right and all. but I think something essential is missing. some twist to the plot, or some hope. because eventually all that happens is that the guys are killed one after the other and it doesn't seem like there is much hope of it changing during the movie which takes some of the suspense out.


Posted by michael kors handbags on May 19, 2013
Why Should You Book Amsterdam Last Minute Deals michael kors handbags


Posted by louis vuitton neverfull pm on July 1, 2013
In the event you are able to get her to go along with this, post the location: I'm sure you will find lots of Y!A users who'llike to read her stuff. louis vuitton neverfull pm http://louis-vuitton-mm-neverfull.tumblr.com/


Posted by ???? ??? on July 16, 2013
It?s in reality a nice and useful piece of information. I am happy that you simply shared this useful info with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thanks for sharing. ???? ???


Posted by vanessa bruno on July 18, 2013
4Photochromic - These lenses are sun-sensitive and transition from light to dark shade according to light conditions. vanessa bruno


Posted by google on July 20, 2013
music5,diendan,twilightbrigade,countercraft,anarchyscooterproducts,fiveworld,kiemdao,81,play-stonescape,diendan,boyfriendtv,talkhomebusiness,sem,akdenizuni,resident-evil,neformalitet,radugaspa,xhbnet,anarchyscooterproducts,mra7,cms-test,sinseternal,sinseternal,opticus,juristique,ethnographyproject,twilightbrigade,resident-evil,glavkeu,nardep,twilightbrigade,cms-test,wtotorg,av-armand,smeha,aimsreviews,edesignsolutions,smeha,teachers-list,opticus,twilightbrigade,seoforums,computer03,foro,islam4arab,resident-evil,nci-anesthesia,aga-instrument,ethnographyproject,moiparfum,vazuzagidrosystem,naturalnekosmetyki,mavensys,teachers-list,teachers-list,moiparfum,neonzombies-clan,opticus,aga-instrument,community,vazuzagidrosystem,icrp,resident-evil,neonzombies-clan,cosmocratores,realmadrid,neformalitet,xximpact,smeha,cms-test,aga-instrument,neonzombies-clan,gtavicecity,countercraft,pspcom,smeha,ethnographyproject,av-armand,ledi-i,znizkomania,ledi-i,temp,muhadong,nci-anesthesia,vazuzagidrosystem,play-stonescape,countercraft,maroc-massa,muhadong,shop,smeha,nci-anesthesia,smeha,mceceg,countercraft,nci-anesthesia,frugaleinstein,opticus,chesstips,nci-anesthesia,resident-evil,wtotorg,glavkeu,acidviolence,cms-test,mceceg,forums,files,mceceg,nci-anesthesia,study,boyfriendtv,geoprocessamento,arondat,nagieff,moiparfum,neonzombies-clan,edesignsolutions,cms-test,vazuzagidrosystem,smeha,play-stonescape,acidviolence,countercraft,boxergaming,naturalnekosmetyki,usynovlenie,usynovlenie,opticus,hypable,mceceg,boxergaming,lalics,enailstore,nimls,acidviolence,nightblades,wsolaunchcode,vazuzagidrosystem,hypable,dynaxel,patiententreff,moiparfum,abonwf,u707u,xzon,arondat,gamingfever,patiententreff,pog,vasutin,nci-anesthesia,countercraft,patiententreff,patiententreff,patiententreff,neonzombies-clan,twilightbrigade,files,betonplast,muhadong,boxergaming,avdown,neonzombies-clan,usynovlenie,fastcars,twilightbrigade,dynaxel,huaihin,ban55,peugeot,eestigfx,curamin,patiententreff,wahtaljouf,eyes-ksa,lt,home,81,red-legion,eestigfx,zngaa,sem,sem,naturalnekosmetyki,alajlanlawyer,neonzombies-clan,edesignsolutions,december212012,d32av,vjfxagency,vjfxagency,vjfxagency,mceceg,nci-anesthesia,vjfxagency,cms-test,croatiadest,croatiadest,boyfriendsolos google http://www.somow.net/vb/showthread.php?p=626915#post626915


Posted by ????? ?????? on July 23, 2013
????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????? ???????????? (????????????) ????? ?????? http://burberry.buzama.com/


Post A Comment About Red Sands
Name:



Please Enter the Above Security Code:

Rank this film on a '666 scale' of one to six (left to right).

Based on 1773 votes.
     

Related Reviews
Red Sands
Warlock
Warlock: The Armageddon
Inferno
Color Me Blood Red
Phantom of the Opera
Deep Red
Tenebre
Deep in the Woods
Sweet Sixteen
Dead Pit
Company of Wolves
Sleepless
Sleepless
Red State
Bad Moon
Deadtime Stories
Cry Wolf
Bird with the Crystal Plumage
Sole Survivor
Reincarnation of Isabel
Children of the Corn
Trauma
Suspiria
Beyond the Door
Psycho 1998
Web of the Spider
Buio Omega
Night Train Murders
Thirst
Cutting Class
Uncanny
Dressed to Kill
Cry of the Banshee
Berserk
Severed - Forest of the Dead
House of Death
Night Warning
Simon Says
Attic Expeditions